THE ACHENSEE

Things to know about the region

Nestled in the breathtaking mountain landscape of the Karwendel and Rofan mountains lies Tyrol's largest lake - Lake Achensee. The region, of which this natural jewel is the center, captivates with incomparable natural beauty and attracts visitors with countless sports and cultural activities.

Lake Achensee
the "Fjord of Tyrol”

If you look at the deep blue Achensee in front of its incomparable mountain backdrop, the comparison to Norwegian fjords almost imposes itself. Created after the last ice age, Tyrol's largest lake attracts swimmers, surfers and sailors every summer.

Lake Achensee is fed by underground tributaries from Ampelsbach, Dürrach and the Achenkirch springs. In 1927, an underground tunnel was built from the Seespitz to the Jenbach hydroelectric power plant, and thus Lake Achensee serves as a natural water reservoir. It also serves as a reservoir for the power plant of the same name in Jenbach.

 

Karwendel Mountains
Tyrol

Together with the Achen-Valley, Lake Achensee forms the border between the Karwendel Mountains and the Rofan Mountains. Today, the Karwendel Mountains are the largest area in Central Europe that is not permanently inhabited. With its approximately 200 peaks, this lonely mountain paradise attracts alpinists, photographers and nature lovers from all over the world. The Karwendel Mountains are also home to Austria's largest nature park - the Karwendel Nature Park. Due to the above-average proportion of natural habitats, numerous typical animal and plant species of the Alps can be found there, such as the golden eagle, the common sandpiper or the German tamarisk.

Rofan Mountains
Tyrol

Simply called "Rofan" by the locals, the Rofan Mountains rise between the Inn Valley and Lake Achen. The Rofan Mountains are famous for their rugged rock formations, between which wide high alpine pastures stretch. While in summer mountain hikers and climbers are on the move here, in winter the Rofan becomes a skiing and above all touring paradise.

Book directly?

Direct bookers always have the greatest advantage. Because you get the best price with us. We promise you that.

So call us and we look forward to tailoring your vacation.

DER ACHENSEE

Wissenswertes der Region

Eingebettet in die atemberaubende Berglandschaft des Karwendel- und Rofangebirges liegt Tirols größter See – der Achensee. Die Region, deren Mittelpunkt dieses Naturjuwel darstellt, besticht mit unvergleichlicher Naturschönheit und lockt die Besucher mit unzähligen Sport- und Kulturangeboten.

Der Achensee
der „Fjord Tirols“

Betrachtet man den tiefblauen Achensee vor seiner unvergleichlichen Bergkulisse, drängt sich der Vergleich zu norwegischen Fjorden geradezu auf. Entstanden nach der letzten Eiszeit lockt Tirols größter See jeden Sommer Schwimmer, Surfer und Segler in seinen Bann.

Gespeist wird der Achensee durch unterirdische Zuflüsse von Ampelsbach, Dürrach und den Achenkircher Quellen. 1927 wurde vom Seespitz bis zum Wasserkraftwerk Jenbach ein unterirdischer Stollen gebaut und so dient der Achensee als natürlicher Wasserspeicher. Er dient auch als Speicher für das gleichnamige Kraftwerk in Jenbach.

 

Karwendelgebirge
Tirol

Der Achensee bildet mit dem Achental die Grenze zwischen dem Karwendelgebirge und dem Rofangebirge. Heute ist das Karwendelgebirge das größte, nicht ständig bewohnte Gebiet Mitteleuropas, mit seinen rund 200 Gipfeln lockt das einsame Bergparadies Alpinisten, Fotografen und Naturliebhaber aus aller Welt an. Das Karwendelgebirge beherbergt auch Österreichs größten Naturpark – den Naturpark Karwendel. Dort finden sich aufgrund des überdurchschnittlich hohen Anteils an natürlichen Lebensräumen, zahlreiche typische Tier- und Pflanzenarten der Alpen wie Steinadler, Flussuferläufer oder die Deutsche Tamariske.

Rofangebirge
Tirol

Von den Einheimischen schlicht „Rofan“ genannt, erhebt sich zwischen dem Inntal und dem Achensee das Rofangebirge. Berühmt ist das Rofangebirge für seine schroffen Felsformationen, zwischen denen sich weite Hochalmgebiete erstrecken. Während im Sommer hier Bergwanderer und Kletterer unterwegs sind, wird der Rofan im Winter zum Ski- und vor allem Tourenparadies.

Direkt buchen?

Direktbucher haben immer den größten Vorteil. Denn sie erhalten bei uns den besten Preis. Das versprechen wir Ihnen.

Also, anrufen und wir freuen uns darauf, Ihren Urlaub maßzuschneidern.